Letter to the Editor: Appreciation for Our School Committees

Submitted by Superintendents in the East Bay Educational

January 15, 2021

Here in the East Bay, we are so fortunate that our eight school districts are governed by outstanding School Committees.
January is National School Board Appreciation Month, and we want to take this opportunity to thank the School Committees in Tiverton, Portsmouth, Newport, Middletown, Little Compton, East Providence, Bristol-Warren, and Barrington.

As Superintendents, we see every day the tremendous amount of time, hard work, and expertise that School Committee members invest in our communities. The dedicated individuals on these boards – including many parents and leaders of the business, nonprofit, faith, and higher education sectors – devote countless hours of their personal time to ensure the success of our school. districts and the more than 20,000 students we serve.

School Committees play several critical roles as the governing bodies of school districts, including setting the vision, adopting policy, and ensuring strong fiscal oversight. These elected officials also serve as ambassadors for our schools and for public education, amplifying the voices of the residents and communities they represent

We are especially grateful for the tireless leadership our School Committees have provided during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Throughout this ordeal, we have relied on School Committees to help develop our reopening plans, allocate emergency funding, adopt new policies, negotiate with labor unions, solicit community feedback, and much more. We extend our heartfelt thanks to the members of our School Committees for being great partners and passionate advocates every step of the way.

Superintendents of Schools in the East Bay Education Collaborative:

Michael B. Messore ID
Barrington Public Schools

Jonathan T. Brice, Ed.D.
Bristol-Warren Regional School District

Kathryn M. Crowley
East Providence School Department

Laurie Dias-Mitchell, Ed.D.
Little Compton School Department

Rosemarie K. Kraeger
Superintendent, Middletown Public Schools

Colleen Burns Jermain, Ed.D.
Superintendent, Newport Public Schools

Thomas W. Kenworthy, Ed.D.
Portsmouth School Department

Peter Sanchioni, Ph.D.
Tiverton Public Schools

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.